A gentle pick up

I’ve been really upset because my life has been turned upside down. Okay, I exaggerated. It hasn’t gone all that bad, but I have had no motivation to run at all for about a week now. And the cause of this? Read on. Be warned that the next paragraph is a Game of Thrones spoiler – don’t read the next paragraph if you haven’t read the books.

So on New Years eve, I didn’t go out or do anything particularly amazeballs. I was onto the last twenty chapters of the (currently) last book in the Game of Thrones collection, and was so excited on finally finishing. But then something terrible happened. Jon Snow got murdered. It got me so terribly upset. Like when the Red Wedding happened on screen. My life is ruined… again! I don’t know if it’s a common thing to get all down from deaths of fictional characters. I remember pre-GOThrones it was Sirius and Dumbledore… It feels like a friend has died!

Anyway, away from that.

thecrazyrunnergirl, an utterly delightful blogger, gave me the bestest idea to run first thing on New Year’s morning. I mean, what could be a better way to start a new year if not with a good run? Come New Year’s day I failed to wake up. And when I did I was all grief-stricken. I didn’t run in the evening either because my bum hurt. I think I did too much glutes the day before (excuses, excuses). AND I was still sad from Jon Snow’s ending. I didn’t want to get out of bed. I just laid there moping and mourning.

When I finally picked myself up on Friday, I did a little fast-paced hill walk. Best decision ever! It reminded me why I love being active outdoors. The fresh air and open space. The serenity. The wonderful feeling I get after exercise. When I got home, my friend texted me of her new year’s resolution to pick up running. Ahh, I knew then my life was getting back on track. I went on a really chatty run with her yesterday, in other words, the easiest, slowest run ever! It made no matter, a gentle pick up was just what I needed. Today, I went on a 3 hour hike up Bukit Marakuching.

Stats posts to follow on yesterday and today’s adventures!

Love, xxx

2 thoughts on “A gentle pick up

  1. I reckon there’s a chance that Jon Snow will go into his Wolf’s body or something like that. Or he could just be dead. George R. R. Martin is not known for his sentimentality.

    • Never thought about that! Would he be able to warg into other people if he’s in Ghost, though? I don’t think so, but I don’t see how he’d even play a part in the story still by just being a voiceless character. xxx

Leave a Reply

