A Coffee Run, literally. And LSD.

So I realised that my long slow distance runs aren’t appropriately slow enough, and hence, does not count as a slow run. Was reading around RW plus other running blogs and websites when I came to the conclusion.

Thus, I decided to attempt another lengthy dawdler of an adventure today. My friends wanted to grab a coffee after work so I thought I’d join them at the café, except that I’d run instead of driving over. I never thought taking it easy could be so difficult! According to the two pace calculators I used (1 and 2), I failed. As soon as I stopped thinking about my running pace I started speeding up again, which got me thinking – was my recent 5k time not one of my better efforts? Or is my long run too short? Perhaps the recent 5k race time I had input into the calculator didn’t particularly reflect my “current level of fitness?” (Oh, how ostentatious that sounds!)

My most recent 5k time was 28:40, which rendered the long run training pace to be 7:09 – 8:02 min/km. My magical 5k PB of 25:57 (that happened over 6 months ago) calculated the long run training pace to be 6:32 – 7:21 min/km. Much closer to what I was running. This gives me hope… Hope that I can smash that PB. That, or most possibly, I’m just running my LSD all wrong.

Anyone have any thoughts on this? Continue reading