A Coffee Run, literally. And LSD.

So I realised that my long slow distance runs aren’t appropriately slow enough, and hence, does not count as a slow run. Was reading around RW plus other running blogs and websites when I came to the conclusion.

Thus, I decided to attempt another lengthy dawdler of an adventure today. My friends wanted to grab a coffee after work so I thought I’d join them at the café, except that I’d run instead of driving over. I never thought taking it easy could be so difficult! According to the two pace calculators I used (1 and 2), I failed. As soon as I stopped thinking about my running pace I started speeding up again, which got me thinking – was my recent 5k time not one of my better efforts? Or is my long run too short? Perhaps the recent 5k race time I had input into the calculator didn’t particularly reflect my “current level of fitness?” (Oh, how ostentatious that sounds!)

My most recent 5k time was 28:40, which rendered the long run training pace to be 7:09 – 8:02 min/km. My magical 5k PB of 25:57 (that happened over 6 months ago) calculated the long run training pace to be 6:32 – 7:21 min/km. Much closer to what I was running. This gives me hope… Hope that I can smash that PB. That, or most possibly, I’m just running my LSD all wrong.

Anyone have any thoughts on this? (because that would be helpful)

Anyhoo, below are the stats from today’s run.

My friends were laughing over how I’m taking the expression “coffee runs” to a whole new level. Ha, they made a lame funny, and I shamelessly lolled. I absolutely cannot wait for this weekend because I’m trying out a new hike trail to a waterfall! Ahh, how exciting!

Take care, xxx

10 thoughts on “A Coffee Run, literally. And LSD.

  1. Hey, and great job on the runs! You’re quite right, it is really important to run your long runs slowly, but it can be hard. It is better to go slow for several reasons though: firstly, long runs are supposed to work on your endurance, and teach your body to burn fat for fuel rather than carbs. This is really important for long races, but you need to stay in a low-ish-pace zone to achieve this. Secondly, long runs also serve to strengthen your mind – believe it or not, at some point long runs become more about mental grit rather than physical stamina. For this reason, the longer you spend on your feet, the better. Thirdly, you don’t want to get injured – because long runs are so much longer than our average, normal runs, they place extra strain on the body. Also, you’ll no doubt find that when you start doing long runs that really push you distance wise, you’ll last much longer much more comfortably if you take it a little slower. I used to run my long runs much too fast too, until I realised that this is risky and counterproductive – you actually get a BETTER workout from your long runs if you run them at a comfortable pace. I find it helps me to start deliberately slow and once I’ve settled into the pace, I let my mind zone out a bit. Although a long run doesn’t require a warm-up, I also find that it sometimes helps me to keep a slow pace if I walk the first kilometre or so and then start at a easy jog. I hope that’s helpful! 😉

Leave a Reply

